Waterworks at Vogeltor ©Martin Augsburger/Stadt Augsburg
Waterworks at Vogeltor

The waterworks was, as already a predecessor on the city wall, built in the immediate vicinity of the bird's gate in 1774 on a former fortress tower. The waterworks were used primarily for the drinking water supply in the Lech quarter.

Building history and description

  • plant with water tower at medieval fortification near the bird gate
  • Augsburg, city center, Lechviertel; between Oberer Gang, Am Vogeltor and Oberer Graben
  • predecessor tower built in 1538
  • New construction of the second tower 1776, in operation until 1879
  • medieval gothic tower with square layout
  • Facade articulated by high-profile arched windows
  • Spire in the form of a so-called tent roof, plain tile
  • Outer Stadtgraben (city moat) flows past the bird's gate under the defensive wall, becoming the inner Stadtgraben (city moat)
Brunnenwerk am Vogeltor ©Martin Augsburger/Stadt Augsburg
Brunnenwerk am Vogeltor ©Martin Augsburger/Stadt Augsburg
Brunnenwerk am Vogeltor ©Martin Augsburger/Stadt Augsburg

Use and purpose

  • waterworks served the better drinking water supply of the Lech neighbourhood
  • waterworks in cultivation on city wall (= first tower of 1538)
  • In 1774, Caspar Walter proposed the conversion of a nearby defense tower (higher and therefore more efficient), created instructions and model, executed only by successor Jacob Dempfle
  • 1843 Moving of the pump house directly in front of the bird tower to the city wall
  • Use of a wooden water wheel to replace the old pump house
  • new pump house abandoned in 1879 and demolished (visible today by a bright spot on the wall)
  • Waterworks at Vogeltor as extension of the drinking water supply system of the city of Augsburg
  • more efficient supply of the Lech district, humanitarian or social component, testify to the separation of drinking and service water and the raising of spring water by the motive water
  • Association of the three historic waterworks in Augsburg's Old Town
  • Drinking water works at the high drain as a modern successor

Authenticity and unique features

  • Wooden pump house demolished on city wall in the 1930s, outlines still recognizable
  • Water tower outwardly unchanged
  • demonstrates in a unique and comprehensible way the continuous development of the urban water supply - temporally (baroque) as well as spatially (Lech district)

Information and location

General Information:

The access to the still existing water tower is on private grounds.

Opening hours:

Not open to the public


City of Augsburg
World Heritage Office
Rathausplatz 1
86150 Augsburg

+49(0)821 324-2115

Guided Tours:

No tours possible


With public transportation: the bus line 35 and 22 in the direction of "Firnhaberau" stop at the "City Galerie/VHS". The Waterworks at Vogeltor are located directly across the street. There is parking in the parking garage.


The Waterworks at Vogeltor are located in the city center directly across from the City Galerie (mall) and VHS (adult education center) and they are a part of the Convent of St. Ursula.